Active

Oh yes, we’re
Team Winter.

Skiing in Zillertal

Winter vacation in Ried in Zillertal

During the winter, Mari Pop is a perfectly located base camp: The ski resort Kaltenbach – Hochzillertal / Hochfügen with 90 km of slopes is just a stone’s throw away – or rather a short bus ride away. Because our hotel is right in the middle of the Zillertal valley, the other ski areas are also close by: test the slopes at over 3,000 meters on the Hintertux Glacier or put your courage on test on one of the steepest slopes in Austria, the “Harakiri” in Mayrhofen.

If you are looking for more variety, you can swap your alpine skis for cross-country skis and head to the trails from Ried. Or you can grab a sled and try one of the six toboggan runs in our region Fügen-Kaltenbach. For those who are looking for a true nature experience, the winter hiking trails are the best option: 50 kilometers of groomed trails criss-cross the landscape.

And what if it storms and snows? Real winter fans would say: “Bad weather does not exist”. Nevertheless, Zillertal offers exciting alternatives for those not-so-hard-core individuals when the weather gets unpleasant: the swimming pool in Fügen and a modern climbing center in the nearby village Aschau offer alternative for pistes and cross-country trails.

Active

Oh yes, we’re
Team Winter.

Skifahren im Zillertal

Winterurlaub in Ried im Zillertal

Im Winter wird unser Mari Pop zum perfekt gelegenen Basislager: Das Skigebiet Kaltenbach – Hochzillertal/Hochfügen mit 90 Pistenkilometern ist nur einen Katzensprung – oder eher eine kurze Busfahrt – entfernt. Weil unser Hotel genau in der Mitte des Zillertals liegt, sind auch die anderen Skigebiete ganz nah: Testet die Pisten auf über 3.000 Metern Höhe am Hintertuxer Gletscher oder stellt euren Mut bei der Abfahrt über eine der steilsten Pisten Österreichs, der „Harakiri“ in Mayrhofen, unter Beweis.

Wer noch mehr Abwechslung sucht, kann die Ski gegen Langlaufausrüstung tauschen und zieht von Ried aus seine Runden auf den Loipen. Oder ihr schnappt euch eine Rodel und probiert eine der sechs Rodelbahnen in unserer Region Fügen-Kaltenbach aus. Für alle, die das echte Naturerlebnis suchen, sind die Winterwanderwege die beste Option: 50 Kilometer an präparierten Wegen durchziehen die Landschaft.

Und was ist, wenns stürmt und schneit?„Schlechtes Wetter gibt’s nicht“, werden echte Winterfans jetzt sagen. Das Zillertal bietet trotzdem für alle nicht-ganz-so-Hartgesottenen spannende Alternativen, wenn es draußen zu ungemütlich wird: Die Erlebnistherme Fügen und ein modernes Kletterzentrum im nahegelegenen Aschau im Zillertal bieten Ausgleich zu Pisten, Loipen & Co.